SCRS recognizes industry professionals with awards

April 25, 2012

Oklahoma City, April 25, 2012—The Society of Collision Repair Specialists (SCRS) on Tuesday recognized several industry professionals with awards during a ceremony held in conjunction with its quarterly board meeting in Oklahoma City.

The SCRS presented the following five awards to six collision repair industry professionals and organizations:

The Lifetime Honorary Membership award recognizes individuals for a lifetime of outstanding, unselfish contributions and dedication to the collision repair industry. This is only the second time this particular award has been presented by the organization, the SCRS said.

The award was presented to Bill Wicklund, who has served the industry since 1959. Wicklund was one of the original members of the SCRS, inducted into the Hall of Eagles in 1991, and received the I-CAR Hall of Fame recognition in 1994.

The Industry Achievement award recognizes an individual who has helped move the collision repair industry forward in a positive direction. The award was presented to Scott Biggs, CEO of the Assured Performance Network.

Biggs has served on various committees with the Collision Industry Conference (CIC), produced videos that have enhanced training and education within the industry, and helped three major trade associations to agree on collision repair standards development, the SCRS said.

The Collision Industry Non-Individual Service award recognizes contributions to the collision repair industry that originate at a corporate or company level. The award was presented to the Auto Education Policy Institute, which was accepted by Erica Eversman, and the Alliance of Automotive Service Providers (AASP).

The Humanitarian award recognizes an individual or organization whose efforts to advance the collision repair industry also support humanitarian activities within local communities. The award was presented to the National Auto Body Council (NABC) for its efforts with the Recycled Rides program.

The Individual Service award recognizes an individual for their contributions, time and dedication specifically to the SCRS. The award was presented to Jeff Hendler, who oversees membership and event coordination for the organization.

“This has been a great night with a lot of deserving people being recognized for their efforts,” said Aaron Schulenburg, executive director of the SCRS. “It’s humbling to look at the people in this room who have spent so much of their careers mentoring so many others. There are individuals who we may recognize once, but they continue to contribute in meaningful and moving ways that really help move both the industry and association forward.”

Sponsored Recommendations

Best Body Shop and the 360-Degree-Concept

Spanesi ‘360-Degree-Concept’ Enables Kansas Body Shop to Complete High-Quality Repairs

How Fender Bender Operator of the Year, Morrow Collision Center, Achieves Their Spot-On Measurements

Learn how Fender Bender Operator of the Year, Morrison Collision Center, equipped their new collision facility with “sleek and modern” equipment and tools from Spanesi Americas...

ADAS Applications: What They Are & What They Do

Learn how ADAS utilizes sensors such as radar, sonar, lidar and cameras to perceive the world around the vehicle, and either provide critical information to the driver or take...

Banking on Bigger Profits with a Heavy-Duty Truck Paint Booth

The addition of a heavy-duty paint booth for oversized trucks & vehicles can open the door to new or expanded service opportunities.