Running a Shop Education+Training Technology

Education Foundation announces 2012 scholarship winners

Order Reprints

June 5, 2012—The Collision Repair Education Foundation this week announced the recipients of three scholarships that were created to assist students who are pursuing careers in the collision repair industry.

The three scholarships awarded include the Collision Repair Education Foundation Scholarship, the Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship and the Collision Repair Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship. The Education Foundation said each of the scholarships is meant to provide students with financial assistance for school tuition and other costs associated with their collision education.

The Collision Repair Education Foundation Scholarship is in its fifth year and funded through the Collision Repair Education Campaign. The following two students were awarded with a $5,000 scholarship:

• Jonathan Mantey of Dennis Technical Education Center in Boise, Idaho
• Ryan Flynn of Lincoln College of Technology in Melrose Park, Ill.

The following six students were awarded with a $2,000 Collision Repair Education Foundation Scholarship:

• Jake Ettinger of Rolla Technical Institute in Rolla, Mo.
• Blake Hassett of Dennis Technical Education Center in Boise, Idaho
• Dakota Kujat of Tuscola Technology Center in Caro, Mich.
• Matthew Meyer of Waubonsee Community College in Sugar Grove, Ill.
• Tan Nguyen of Madison Area Technical College in Madison, Wis.
• Tyler Perkins of NWTC in Green Bay, Wis.

The Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship is in its third year and was created to honor former I-CAR development manager Lon Baudoux, who died in November 2008, the Education Foundation said. Selection of the scholarship recipient is based on classroom excellence, participation in extracurricular activities and volunteering efforts.

The $1,000 scholarship, which is funded by I-CAR’s staff and instructors, was presented to Ruslan Lysak of Green River Community College in Auburn, Wash.

“This scholarship has special meaning for the Foundation as it represents part of the tie between the Foundation and I-CAR,” said Chris Northup, chairman of the Education Foundation’s board of trustees. “Lon was a great leader and supporter of education and the enrichment of young people’s lives.  The scholarship selection committee takes great lengths to ensure only the most deserving receive the benefit of this worthy legacy scholarship.”

The Education Foundation said two students were awarded with the $2,000 Collision Repair Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship, which is funded by the current members of the organization’s board of trustees:

• Justin Furman of Washtenaw Community College in Ann Arbor, Mich.
• Zachairah Hamlin of Mid Maine Technical Center in Waterville, Maine

The Education Foundation said the three scholarships were part of more than $125,000 in scholarships provided by the organization in April.

Recommended Products

January 2012

February 2012

March 2012

Related Articles

Collision Repair Education Foundation announces 2011 scholarship winners

Ed. Foundation Announces First Round of Scholarship, Grant Winners

You must login or register in order to post a comment.