Running a Shop Technology Education+Training

AASP-MN awards $20,000 in scholarships

Order Reprints

April 12, 2011 — The Minnesota chapter of the Alliance of Automotive Service Providers (AASP-MN) recently announced it would distribute a record $20,000 in scholarships to mechanical and collision students this year.

The funds will go to 20 students as $1,000 awards to help continue their studies in the automotive industry. Six of the recipients are collision repair students:

Robert Hinton, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park, Minn.

Derek Meehl, St. Cloud Technical College, St. Cloud, Minn.

Travis Stoerzinger, Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical, Winona, Minn.

Eric James Taufen, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount, Minn.

Joseph Watson, Dunwoody College of Technology, Minneapolis

Chase Wallace Tallman Wynia, Riverland Community College, Albert Lea, Minn.

AASP-MN said 42 students from 16 schools applied for the scholarships, which were available to those entering their second year of a National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation-certified automotive program. A committee of industry representatives chose recipients based on scholastic achievement, education and career goals, financial need and recommendations.

The scholarships are the focal point of AASP-MN’s education fund, established to provide resources to support automotive students, enhance programs and raise awareness of career opportunities in the independent auto-service industry.

Recommended Products

2015 FenderBender KPI Survey: Complete Report

2014 FenderBender KPI Survey: Complete Report

2013 FenderBender KPI Survey: Complete Report

Related Articles

AASP-MN Awards $17,000 in Student Scholarships

AASP-MN Awards Scholarships to Automotive Students

AASP-MN Awards 2017-18 Scholarships to Automotive Students

You must login or register in order to post a comment.