Seven Automakers Named in Class Action Suit

Order Reprints

Sept. 11, 2019—The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration is investigating at least 15 crashes where drivers reported air bags failed to deploy, per a report from ABC 15.

The air bag issue stems from the air bag control unit. "The Air Bag Control Unit (ACU) senses a vehicle crash to determine whether air bag deployment is required," according to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA).

In July, NHTSA reached out to seven major automakers: Kia, Honda, Acura, Toyota, Hyundai, Mitsubishi, and Chrysler/Fiat asking for more information on cars they've sold, or complaints they've received for vehicles equipped with an air bag control unit manufactured by ZF-TRW.

Jonathan Michaels, a California-based attorney, filed a class-action lawsuit against all seven automakers in July, claiming the companies have "concealed a deadly air bag defect in 12.3 million U.S. cars. 

Related Articles

Ford Reaches New Settlement in Class-Action Suit

Tesla Largely Settles Class-Action Suit

You must login or register in order to post a comment.